Things They Are A-Changin’

 

It’s a new year. Time to make some changes, but I want to explain a little.

Parenting with intentionality is one of my biggest passions. I know God called me to be a mother, and I believe He expects the same effort in that calling as in other callings. I search the Scriptures for guidance. I study books about parenting. I read blogs and articles about parenting, education, and other related topics. Because of all that input, and under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, I have developed clear ideas about parenting, especially as Christ-followers.

Eighty-five times, I’ve shared those ideas with you (or facilitated others’ sharing). It’s easy for me. I can think of two or three topics right now that I’d like to explore with/for you, my 74 followers.

For over a year now, I’ve faithfully blogged weekly both here at Intentional Parenting and at Not About Me, plus the Instagram memes and social media links (Facebook and Twitter) for each blog post. It’s too much for my life right now. I am still parenting, you know. The commitment to the blogs has taken me away from writing the Bible study series that is the very reason I began the blogs. It feels a bit like the church at Ephesus, to which John wrote, “You have forsaken the love you had at first” (Revelation 2:4). I’m not a blogger. I’m a writer who blogs. That means I must write more than what I publish here each week.

So I’m scaling back on this blog. Perhaps it seems counter-intuitive to you. These posts are easy for me, and I have more ‘hits’ on this blog than on Not About Me (my main blog). It’s not the first time God has led me into something that didn’t make sense on the surface. (I call it uncommon sense.) We all know, however, that it’s easy to spend our lives doing the good things and miss the best thing. God drew me into writing through my passion for His Word. Nothing enlivens me more than when He reveals Himself through Scripture…except sharing His Truth with others! That’s where my writing efforts need to focus.

My new plan is to publish on this blog once each month—either something specifically for here or a link to something I wrote about parenting that I’ve been blessed to share elsewhere. If you need more, go back into the archives or follow me on Not About Me or e-mail me.

Thanks for understanding. It may seem weird since I don’t actually know many of you, but I sincerely appreciate your interest, likes, and comments.

I don’t know that there’s much on which to comment here. If you’d like to let me know what post most influenced you, I would be very encouraged.

 

.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

